Love and Let Bark (Hearts of Alaska)

  • Author Alanna Martin
  • Release Date November 30, 2021
  • Publisher Berkley
  • ISBN/ASIN 9780593198872
  • Our Rating
  • Reviewed by Jo

Buy the Book

Our Review

LOVE AND LET BARK is the culmination of the HEARTS OF ALASKA series, and I’m sad to see it end. This is the third and final book set in Helen, Alaska with the feuding Lipin and Porter families, lots of rescue dogs and a cat or two, along with love, even if it’s between members of the feuding families.

This is Lydia Lipin and Nate Porter’s story. He lives and works in Washington state but when sidelined with an injury returns to Alaska to be near family to recuperate. Lydia, who has never left Alaska, runs the family’s boutique hotel along with her sister, Taylor, who is also engaged to a Porter—one of Nate’s cousins. We learn of Lydia and Nate’s secret friendship when they were in high school and see how they reconnect many years later. Both Lydia and Nate have a depth to them, and they also have trouble communicating—but never when between the sheets. Members of both families are woven throughout, and the women’s grandmother is always adding fuel to the fire.

The story has a nice flow, and I liked the inclusion of Nate’s rescue dogs, whom he calls the monsters but in a loving and caring way. They are sibling puppies and are always full of energy. They take to Lydia immediately and she to them even though she’s a cat person. Her cat, Merlot, is also included throughout. There are many stories being woven together, and we are reunited with many characters we’ve met before. There are a lot of outdoor activities that are beautifully described, along with the snow, the cold, and the wildlife.  

There is some closure with several happily ever afters in the story, but the epilogue didn’t go far enough for me. I’d love to see a novella set at the holidays (hint, hint) to tie up the loose ends of several of the characters and see if uniting any of the Lipin and Porter family members in marriage softened or ended the feud.

The books in the HEARTS OF ALASKA series are the first written by Ms. Martin. I look forward to reading more of her books.

Back to Top